Regional Transport Authority
Tax and Fee Structure
Forms & Manuals FAQ
Motor Vehicle Department, Tamluk , Purba Medinipur, has been computerised on 6th Nov.2008 and is now successfully operating the following activities through the VAHAN application:
  • New Registration of Vehicles.
  • Grant Certificate of Fitness to transport vehicles.
  • Collection of Tax & Fees
  • Transfer of Ownership
  • Assignment of registration mark of this State in respect of vehicles registered in other State and kept for use in this State for a period more than one year.
  • Ensure that the motor vehicles are covered by valid certificates of insurance.
  • Take action on vehicle owners not complying with the provisions of the Motor Vehicles Act and the Tax Act.

Other activities of the department which shall also be computerised soon are as follows:

  • Issue of Learner’s License
  • Issue & Renewal of permanent driving license
  • Issue permits to Stage Carriages, Contract Carriages, Goods Vehicles & Private Service Vehicles.

M.V.Dept. is a major source of collection of Government revenue by the means of- Tax, Fees & Fines collected from offensive Vehicles detected at the time of Enforcement. The annual collection during the Financial Year 2009-2010 was Rs.22.73 Crore against a target fixed of Rs.25 Crore.

Composition of the M.V. Department, Tamluk
The Motor Vehicles Office is headed by Regional Transport Officer(RTO) & supported by ARTO, MVIs (Tech & Non-Tech), Group-C & Group-D staff.

Regional Transport Authority (RTA) is the Permit issuing Authority of this District which grants both Stage Carriage & Contract Carriage Permits for Transport Vehicles. A meeting of RTA is held at regular interval with Chairman RTA, Vice-Chairman RTA & Secretary RTA.

The RTA Board comprises of:

Dr. Rashmi Kamal,IAS District Magistrate Chairman, RTA Purba Medinipur
Shri Nirmal Kr. Jana, Member, RTA Purba Medinipur
Shri Abhijit Hait Secretary, RTA,Purba Medinipur

Last RTA meeting was held on 21.06.2010.


Home | Sitemap